My first two weeks

It has always been my dream to have a job helping animals. Being involved in the veterinary field has been on my mind for as long as I can remember. At the age of 32, I am finally able to fulfill my dream.

The questions that I am most often asked, “is being a veterinary assistant everything you thought is would be?”

I have known a few vet techs in my life, all who have told me it’s a great job but definitely underestimated. I never really knew what they meant by that. I mean how hard could it be right? You get to work with animals! There is nothing better then that! It’s easy.

I never realized how wrong I was. Don’t get me wrong; working with animals is great, but a lot harder than most people think, including myself.

My first day of work I walked into the clinic with pep in my step, I was on top of the world. I finally got the opportunity I have been dreaming about. I observed vaccines being given, x-rays being taken, ultrasounds being performed and even a few surgical procedures. At that point I realized something, being a veterinary assistant is much more than playing with puppies ans kittens, as most people think. It’s extremely technical. You have to be accurate with everything you do because if you make a mistake it could mean harming a patient. And when I came to that realization, I will admit, it was frightening.

Aside from all the exciting things I witnessed in my first week, I also witnessed the more emotional side of what we do. My first day consisted of four euthanasia’s, more then this clinic does in a week. Was I sad for the animals? Not exactly… Loss of life is sad, but when these pets have lived a long, happy life, you know when it’s time to let go. The most difficult part is seeing a fellow pet owner grieve over the loss of one of their family members. Having made these decision’s for my own pets I feel a connection to the pain they are going through. But knowing these decisions are made out of love and compassion to see these pet’s released from the pain of old age or disease, makes it a lot easier. This is a gift we provide to alleviate pain and provide peace and comfort in the owners time of sorrow.

Now being two weeks into the job, the most frequent question I get asked now is “now that you have seen everything, does the job still excite you? Is it still everything you thought it would be?” Absolutely! It is hard, it gets frustrating. I can honestly say it is a lot harder then I anticipated. I want to learn everything and do well; and I accept the fact that I will make mistakes. I know that my new work family will help me learn and grow, and protect me when times get rough. I continue to tell myself that “I can do this, I will do this, and I will be great”. I wouldn’t trade this opportunity for the for anything!

Written by our newest member, Diana.

One thought on “My first two weeks

Leave a Reply

